I’ve decided I like myself too much to keep reading what I’m not enjoying.

When I first read about You’re the Only One I Can Tell by Deborah Tannen, I was hella excited. I LOVE reading about women friendships and the unique role they can play in women’s lives. As someone with a bestie from college that I still talk to every goddamn day (and see several times a year) and a group of friends that tries to get together every year for a girls’ trip, I was so ready to love this and read about women empowering and supporting each other through communication and friendship.

Instead, what I got was really boring? And vague? And just really surface level in terms of exploring these relationships. Granted, some of this loosely resonated with me (appreciating same/similar experiences in friends, the interruptions that are not interruptions, talking about problems that don’t need immediate solutions presented), but for the most . . . snooze. I don’t know what exactly I expected to get out of it, but I did expect something less formulaic and cold.

I think the broad idea to take away from this is: don’t let shit fester; communicate with your friends if something is bothering you. Which, frankly, is not fucking limited to women communicating with other women. And also not a message that needs close to 300 pages to get across.

Leave a Reply

